Learning To Become A Software Engineer

Adam Chernitsky
3 min readOct 29, 2019

--

If you have ever looked at code and had no prior experience then you’ve probably had the same feeling of being overwhelmed. That feeling was probably even more evident if this was something that sparked your interest. Seemingly looking at some code with no knowledge may leave the negative thought in your mind that it is impossible to learn it. At least that’s how I felt at first. Lucky for me after some research I came across Flatiron School. This is a wonderful place that puts their all into the students who dare to push themselves and learn this daunting skill. Learning this skill is no easy task and if you have ever tried to self-teach yourself then you understand just how frustrating it can actually, especially when you’re doing something that feels simple but consistently leaves you with nothing but error messages and dwindling motivation. In this field commitment and persistence is key, but if you’re the type who likes to be in a learning environment I highly recommend that you take a very serious look into Flatiron School.

Not only does Flatiron offer a variety of different schedule accommodations but if you’re a previous college student you’ll find that it’s reasonably priced. Instead of spending tens of thousands of dollars over the course of many years you can learn a skill that is just as or arguably more promising than a degree you may already be pursuing. You can also try the free coding bootcamp they offer to get a feel for coding and to see if it is something you’d be interested in.

If you don’t like to research then maybe you’d like to read a little about personal experience from myself. Before starting Flatiron I had zero coding experience but I knew that technology was something I was very interested in. With that in mind I decided to start working on the free coding bootcamp offered through Flatiron and quickly became hooked. Coding is not easy but if you stick to it anyone can learn it, after all nothing good comes easy. It will take hours of work to learn but if you put some commitment in you’ll find that in the end working in this field will be very worth while.

Currently I am a student at Flatiron and every passing day I am immensely grateful for the opportunity. The instructors here are wonderful and they genuinely care about your progress and education. I am shocked at how much I have learned in this program. When I started I knew nothing and in one short month I already have learned to be proficient in a programming language, as well as learning to use the CLI, which I didn’t even know existed before I started school here, I’ve learned how to use enumerable’s to iterate over data, and the list goes on. I would have never believed a month ago I would be capable of doing these things much less capable of learning this much in such a short amount of time.

I would proudly recommend Flatiron to anybody who has an interest in this field and I would day don’t allow yourself to be discouraged, anything you put your mind to is achievable and I’m currently proof that anyone can hop into this field and begin learning this incredible skill.

--

--